Ann McDonough
Object Management Group
+1-781-444 0404

Object Management Group Chairs Update Status of Standards Activities Underway
Submission plans to drive new standards and adoption votes were focus at latest quarterly membership meeting

Needham, MA – January 16, 2019 – Chairs of the Object Management Group® (OMG®) Task Forces (TFs) and Special Interest Groups (SIGs) presented updates about their standards work during a plenary session on the last day of the OMG quarterly membership meeting, which took place from December 10-14 in Renton, Washington. At the meeting, the OMG board of directors adopted two new specifications, while the Platform and Domain Task Forces issued the Robotic Service Ontology RFP and the Interface Definition Language v4 (IDL4™) to C# Language Mapping RFP and the Automated Source Code Quality Measures Request for Comment.
OMG is an international, open membership, not-for-profit technology standards consortium where members develop and maintain standards that influence the future direction of technology as well as industries including space, government, finance, manufacturing, robotics, retail and healthcare.
The following Chairs reported on their groups' accomplishments:

  • Claude Baudoin, co-chair of the Business Modeling & Integration Domain Task Force (BMI DTF) and owner and principal consultant at cébé IT and Knowledge Management: “The BMI DTF focused on the progress of the submissions to its Business Architecture Core Metamodel RFP, and set August 2019 as the revised submission date. We also made progress toward an ‘unification’ model for our three process-related specifications: BPMN™, CMMN™ and DMN™.”
  • Dr. Bill Curtis, Executive Director of the Consortium for Information & Software Quality ™: “The Automated Source Code Quality Measures RFC was approved for public review.”
  • Sanford Friedenthal, chair of the Systems Engineering Domain Special Interest Group (SE DSIG) and Consultant at SAF Consulting: “The SE DSIG included a presentation and demonstration by the SysML® v2 Submission Team (SST) co-leads on their initial progress and plans, along with a presentation by the SysML RTF leads regarding their initial effort to extend the precise semantics of SysML, which is planned to be incorporated into the SysML v1.7 specification. Charles Kreuger from BigLever gave a presentation on a feature-based approach to product-line engineering to share assets across a family of products that is currently being incorporated into an ISO standard.”
  • Dr. Jeffrey E. Smith, co-chair of the Analysis and Design Platform Task Force and Chief Systems Engineer at Multi Agency Collaboration Environment: “Conrad Bock gave an Onto State Machine presentation and we had recommended adoption of MOF2RDF (ad/2018-12-03 through 08) after a presentation by OMG members Manfred Koethe and Pete Rivett.”
  • Bobbin Teegarden, co-chair of the Agent Platform Special Interest Group (PSIG) and CTO/Chief Architect at OntoAge: “The Agent PSIG will be voting to add another co-chair, and enlivening bi-weekly meetings starting again in January, with an expansion of activities including incorporating some emerging agent technologies (including AI), and will continue to support the AgEnt (Agents and Events) RFP Submission.  We encourage new members, so please join us via agents@omg.org.”
To participate in OMG specifications, please visit https://www.omg.org/public_schedule/.


About OMG
The Object Management Group® (OMG®) is an international, open membership, not-for-profit technology standards consortium with representation from government, industry and academia. OMG Task Forces develop enterprise integration standards for a wide range of technologies and an even wider range of industries. OMG's modeling standards enable powerful visual design, execution and maintenance of software and other processes. Visit www.omg.org for more information.


Note to editors: Object Management Group and OMG are registered trademarks of the Object Management Group. For a listing of all OMG trademarks, visit https://www.omg.org/legal/tm_list.htm. All other trademarks are the property of their respective owners.