OMG Certified UML Professional Overview

OCUP is a rigorous, comprehensive, and fair test of a person’s knowledge of OMG’s specifications for unified modeling language. The worldwide UML Certification Program provides an objective measure of your UML 2.x Specification knowledge.

OCUP Certification will benefit you by giving you an important documentation topresent to employers and clients. It also benefits companies looking for skilled UML practitioners like you, by giving them a basis for making hiring and promotion decisions.


The Exams

There are three OCUP Exams - Fundamental, Intermediate and Advanced. Each Exam tests your knowledge of a different subset of the UML.


FUNDAMENTAL A member of a UML development team should have the knowledge and skills to acquire this certification.
INTERMEDIATE A senior member or group leader of a UML development team should have the knowledge and skills to acquire this certification.
ADVANCED A Technical Manager of a UML development project should have the knowledge and skills to acquire this certification.

Each level has its own examination, testing progressively more complex concepts and usage of the UML 2.X Specification.  All three exams cover the Superstructure; the Advanced exam also covers the Infrastructure. The maintenance updates that yield the point releases 2.1, 2.2, and the forthcoming 2.3 did not modify the language enough to affect examination coverage, so you will be well-prepared regardless of the point version you are familiar with.
For more detailed information on the Exams, click here.

The Companies Behind the OCUP Program 

The OCUP Program was developed and is run as a joint program of OMG and the UML Technology Institute Co., Ltd.(UTI). The OCUP examinations are offered worldwide in English at Pearson VUE testing centers in a program administered by OMG; the examinations are also available in the Japanese language in Asia in a program administered by UTI. OCUP is one of four Certification Program jointly produced by OMG and UTI; the others are OCEB™ for BPM, OCRES™ for Real-time and Embedded and OCSMP™ for System Modelers - are administered by Pearson VUE at their world-wide network of secure testing centers.


About OMG

OMG OMG® is an international, open membership, not-for-profit computer industry standards consortium. OMG Task Forces develop modeling and integration standards for a wide range of technologies and an even wider range of industries. OMG's Model Driven Architecture® (MDA®) supports the complete application lifecycle from design, through development and deployment, to maintenance and evolution. Modeling standards including the Unified Modeling Language™ (UML®), 
Business Process Modeling and Notation (BPMN™), and the Systems Modeling Language (OMG SysML™), enable powerful visual design for software structure and behavior, processes in software and business, and virtually every type of system. OMG's middleware standards and profiles are based on the Common Object Request Broker Architecture (CORBA®) and support a wide variety of industries.

About the UML Technology Institute

The UML Technology Institute Co., Ltd.(UTI) was founded to promote the use of open, standards-based modeling technologies through the development of international certification programs that provide formal recognition of modeling expertise. With headquarters in Tokyo, UML Technology Institute was established in November 2002.

For more information or questions about the OMG Certification Program, please contact certificationinfo@omg.org
OCUP, OCRES, OCEB and OCSMP are joint programs of the OMG and the UML Technology Institute (UTI)

Last updated on February 27, 2014Hit Counter

Copyright © 1997-2014 Object Management Group, Inc. All Rights Reserved. For questions about the WEBSITE , please contact webmaster@omg.org For TECHNICAL questions, please contact webtech@omg.org This site is best viewed  with Netscape Navigator, Mozilla Firefox or Internet Explorer versions 6.0 or later or any browser capable of viewing JavaScript and CSS 2.0.